MSUK British Kart Championships for Rotax to conclude at Whilton Mill

Even despite the current situation regarding the COVID-19 pandemic that was caused a fair share of interruptions to the 2020 racing season, Motorsport UK have finally been able to reschedule the final race weekend of the 2020 British Kart Championships, which for Rotax, will now conclude at Whilton Mill Kart Club in Daventry, Northamptonshire between December 19th and 20th,

This is in place of the original dates of November 14 – 15, as Paul Fletcher International was the original circuit confirmed by the organisers.

Dan Parker, Kart Manager at Motorsport UK said: “All our competitors, teams and organisers have done an excellent job to pull together the 2020 Championships. With only one round remaining, we really wanted to finish off the calendar and complete every championship when it was possible to do so. Earlier this month we set about looking for a suitable venue and date, and the team at Whilton Mill were extremely accommodating. We have already started work with the venue, to prepare it for the BKC and to put in place our COVID-19 guidelines ready to finish the championship before the year is out.”

Daniel Whittemore, Sales & Marketing Director at Whilton Mill Ltd said: “It’s been an aspiration to see the British Karting Championship return to Whilton Mill Kart Circuit, so it’s fantastic to welcome back the Honda and Rotax classes for the final round of their championships in December. During lockdown we’ve been working closely with the team at Motorsport UK on planning their return, with COVID-secure procedures a high priority. 2020 has been a difficult year for everyone so it will be great to end it on a high.”

Here are the current standings for the top three in each class, ahead of the final race weekend, which will see champions crowned, along with new members of Team UK, who will be heading to the Kartodromo Internacional do Algarve in Portimão, Portugal for the rescheduled 2020 Rotax MAX Challenge Grand Finals, which will take place between January 23rd and 30th, 2021.

Mini MAX: 

1st: Harry Linden (Dan Holland Racing) – 571 points

2nd: Steven Duncan (Vision Motorsport) – 533 points

3rd: Mckenzie Douglass (Coles Racing) – 519 points

Junior Rotax: 

1st: Callum Voisin (Coles Racing) – 538 points

2nd: Mattie Hingeley (Argenti Motorsport) – 536 points

3rd: Matthew Higgins (Dan Holland Racing) – 527 points

Senior Rotax:

1st: Morgan Porter (Argenti Motorsport) – 548 points

2nd: Tom Edmunds (KR-Sport) – 532 points

3rd: Nelson King (Dan Holland Racing) – 525 points

Rotax 177:

1st: Oliver Appleby (GMS Karting) – 550 points

2nd: Matthew Easton (Privateer) – 543 points

3rd: Henry Ayres (KR-Sport) – 540 points

Image © Motorsport UK